Trade News
Inbound/ Domestic News
Outbound News
Home Inbound / Domestic News Details


Thursday, 21 December, 2017, 11 : 30 AM [IST]

Kerala Tourism presents State’s Tourism Awards 2015-16

Department of Tourism, Government of Kerala recently presented the ‘Kerala State Tourism Awards 2015-2016’, honouring Kerala's best tourism service providers. Pinarayi Vijayan, Chief Minister of Kerala, who inaugurated the awards ceremony at the Hotel Taj Vivanta, Kerala presented the prestigious award to the winners.

Speaking on the occasion, Vijayan said, "The value of public participation in tourism is phenomenal and CM urged for an inclusive tourism approach with public participation which can make Kerala the best destination for international tourists."

Kadakampally Surendran, Minster for Tourism, Co-operation and Devaswom, Government of Kerala, presided over the awards ceremony. He promised to implement the recommendations included in the New Tourism Policy quickly within the specified timeline.

VK Madhu (District Panchayat President), EM Najeeb (President CKTI), Baby Mathew (President KTM Society), Aneesh Kumar PK (President, ATTOI), Jaffar Malik, IAS (Additional Director, Kerala Tourism) were among those present. P Bala Kiran IAS (Director, Kerala Tourism) proposed a vote of thanks.

Based on the exceptional work done, 22 awards under three categories were presented at the event. 

The tourism awards were categorised as follows: -

Category -I -Tour operators/Travel Agents- Best Inbound Tour operator to Kerala - Inter sight Tours and Travels Pvt. Ltd.

Category -II -Hotels/Tourism Service providers- Best One Star/Two Star Hotel in Kerala - No eligible candidates; Best Three Star Hotel in Kerala- Estuary Island; Best Four Star Hotel in Kerala -   Spice Village; Best Five Star Hotel in Kerala- Kochi Marriott Hotel; Best Five Star Deluxe Hotel in Kerala -The Leela Raviz Kovalam; Best Heritage Hotel in Kerala - Coconut Lagoon; Best Approved &  Classified Ayurvedic Centre in Kerala - Somatheeram Research Institute and Ayurveda Hospital Pvt. Ltd; Best Approved & Classified House Boat Operator in Kerala – NIL; Best Approved & Classified Homestay in Kerala-  Rose Gardens Eco Friendly Homestay; Best Approved & Classified Service Villa in Kerala- Teak Town.

Category III- Special Awards- Best Hotel Manager in Kerala- Rajesh Nair, HIG 50, Panampally Nagar, Cochin; Best Tourism/Hotel Management Institute in Kerala- Oriental School of Hotel Management, Valley View, Lakkidi, Wayanad; Best Tourism related Report in print media–  G. Jyothilal, Senior Sub-Editor, Mathrubhumi Yathra, MM Press, Kozhikode; Best Photography in Tourism sector- Rajan.M.Thomas, Chief Photographer, Malayala Manorama, Kollam; Best Tourism-related publication in Kerala– Manorama Traveller, MM Publications, Kottayam; Most Innovative Project in Tourism Sector- Mathrubhumi Printing & Publishing Co Ltd, Kaloor, Kochi; Most Innovative use of Information Technology in Tourism Sector- Sanchari Facebook Community, Kodavangattil House; Best practices in the field of Responsible Tourism- Chalukya Grace; Best adventure tourism operator- Kalypso Adventures Pvt Ltd; Best Tourism Club– Darul Uloom VHSS Pulleppady, Ernakulam; Best Student Coordinator of Tourism Club - Aiena Varghese, St. Xavier’s College for Women, Aluva; Best Tourism Police - V.B. Rasheed, Valiyaveetil House, P.O Eriyad; Best Tourism Lifeguard- Premjith T.V, Mullassery House, Cheruvannur Feroke P.O., Calicut.
Post Your commentsPOST YOUR COMMENT
* Name :      
* Email :    
  Website :  
Receive the best of Travel content in your mailbox.
Enter your e-mail ID for our
Weekly e-Newsletter
© Copyright 2015 Saffron Synergies Pvt Ltd