Trade News
Inbound/ Domestic News
Outbound News
Home Ministry Details


Monday, 01 November, 2010, 14 : 15 PM [IST]

India extends Visa on Arrival facility to four ASEAN countries

In an initiative to boost tourist traffic from Association of Southeast Asian (ASEAN) nations, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh recently announced Visa on Arrival (VoA) facility for nationals of Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia and the Philippines. The facility can be availed starting January 1, 2011.

According to a report in Economic Times, while addressing the 8th India-ASEAN Summit in Hanoi, Vietnam Singh said, “We invite many more tourists from the ASEAN countries to visit India to see the splendour of its rich cultural heritage. As a concrete measure, I am happy to announce that we will extend our Visa-on-Arrival facility to the nationals of Cambodia, Vietnam, Philippines and Laos with effect from January 1, 2011.”

Stressing that ASEAN was the core around which the process of economic integration of the Asia-Pacific region should be built, the Prime Minister said that India hoped to sustain nine-ten per cent growth rate in the coming years, thus offering a whole lot of trade and investment opportunities.

Post Your commentsPOST YOUR COMMENT
* Name :      
* Email :    
  Website :  
Receive the best of Travel content in your mailbox.
Enter your e-mail ID for our
Weekly e-Newsletter
© Copyright 2015 Saffron Synergies Pvt Ltd