TravelBiz Monitor

Top Stories

Tuesday, 02 January, 2018, 10 : 30 AM [IST]
All mail/express trains to have at least 6 general class coaches

In order to cater to the needs of passengers of unreserved segment Ministry of Railways has decided that all the Mail/Express trains (except fully reserved trains like Rajdhani, Shatabdi, Duronto, etc.,) introduced after 2007-08, shall have at least 6 general class coaches in their standard composition as per feasibility.

Railways shall continue the operations of fully unreserved services like Jan Sadharan, Janseva, Jan Nayak Express etc., to facilitate unreserved segment of passenger. In the Railway Budget 2016-17, it has been further announced to introduce Antyodaya Express, which are long-distance, fully unreserved, superfast train services. Accordingly, of the 11 pairs of Antyodaya trains decided to be introduced during the year 2016-17 and 2017-18, four (4) pairs of Antyodaya Express have already been introduced till date.

In pursuance of the announcements made in the Railway Budget 2016-17, regarding attachment of  two to four Deen Dayalu coaches in some long distance trains for unreserved travel to enhance our carrying capacity for the masses,  Indian Railways have inducted 321 Deen Dayalu coaches (General Class coaches) in 53 pairs of trains during the year 2016-17. Similarly, during the year 2017-18, 76 Deen Dayalu coaches are being utilised.

In addition to the above, during 2017-18 (till November, 2017) Indian Railways have also utilised about 137 General Class coaches for permanent augmentation of the loads of existing trains (which includes both Passenger and Express train services).

The passenger coaches plying over Indian Railways (IR) have been designed with the necessary safety features considering the operating conditions over IR. Linke Hoffman Busch (LHB) design coaches are of a superior design than Integral Coach Factory (ICF) type coaches and have better safety features like anti-climbing etc. It has been decided that only LHB coaches would be manufactured from April, 2018 onwards.

These information were given by Rajen Gohain, Minister of State for Railways, Government of India in Rajya Sabha.

Source: PIB